ADVERTISEMENT

The Way-Back machine

Larno51

Superstar
Gold Member
Jun 25, 2021
A little palate-cleanser in the middle of the week. While looking through boxes in the garage I came across a magazine I'd saved from the year after I graduated from high school, the California Prep Football 1969 Yearbook. This magazine, and one for basketball, was produced for several years about that time. I thought it would be interesting to see who the top teams were then compared to now. If nothing else it shows that only a handful of teams have stayed consistently good over the years and changing demographics have had a very large impact on the football scene. Plus, it reminds me that I am a senior citizen who graduated 54 years ago.

I won't do all the sections but here are a few - and these are preseason rankings. These are all top to bottom top ten.

Sac-Joaquin: Mira Loma, Edison, Downey, Tracy, Bella Vista, Yuba City, Stagg, Sacramento,Johnson, Ceres.
North Coast: Alameda, Vallejo, Hogan, Pleasant Hill, Arroyo, Hayward, Terra Linda, San Ramon, Concord, Castro Valley
Central Coast: Los Altos, Riordan, Woodside, Soquel, Campbell, South San Francisco, Sequoia, Serra, Piedmont Hills, Los Gatos
Southern: Anaheim, El Rancho, Lakewood, St. Paul, West Covina, Santa Barbara, Redlands, Blair, Mater Dei, Loara
State Top Twenty: Anaheim, El Rancho, Lakewood, St. Paul, West Covina, Santa Barbara, Redlands, Mira Loma, Fresno, Alameda, Vallejo, Blair, Mater Dei, Los Altos, Loara, Hogan, Riordan, Gardena, Canoga Park, Pleasant Hill

The all state team had only one player that would have any resonance today - Lynn Swann, from Serra. Old-timers might also remember James McAlister, who played at UCLA.