ADVERTISEMENT

Mark Madsen takes over at Cal

Unless the administration relents on their admissions policy for athletes Cal will be DII in no time.
The problems include admissions but go way beyond that. The recently fired coach did not develop relations with coaches and clubs and was in general a lousy recruiter. It wasn't that long ago that Cal had 5 star recruits and respectable standings in the Pac 12 but the last two disastrous coaching hires completely demolished the program. I'm a Cal grad and have watched games going back over 50 years. Even in the lean years, and there were many, the team had players that were fun to watch. Not the case, recently. But, with the portal and NIL basketball teams can be turned around quickly, and that is what Madsen must do. So, a Stanford grad as Cal basketball coach, and a Cal grad as Stanford football coach.

It is a tough road at Cal, but this is a strong hire. Mark Madsen has shown he can win at a West Region program. Recruiting will change some with a different level of player available and academic requirements, but Madsen has a blueprint on how to do this.

Which is an improvement from Jones and Fox.

Something that would be interesting is if he brought in a local coach for the staff. There are some good candidates Cal could look into.

It is a tough road at Cal, but this is a strong hire. Mark Madsen has shown he can win at a West Region program. Recruiting will change some with a different level of player available and academic requirements, but Madsen has a blueprint on how to do this.

Which is an improvement from Jones and Fox.

Something that would be interesting is if he brought in a local coach for the staff. There are some good candidates Cal could look into.

Like who?

Reactions: SHgradSIdad
Like who?