ADVERTISEMENT

Questioning the CIF...

Feb 28, 2019
Hi all... new to the boards and still fairly new to the area, so please excuse any faulty assumptions driven by my inexperience with NorCal high school basketball. But as a newbie I'd like to ask the seasoned vets on this board to walk me through the value-add of the CIF and of competitive equity.

The "pro" argument seems to be "avoiding blowouts"...which supports better attendance...which generates higher CIF revenues.

Here are several questions and counter-arguments to that:

1) Why is “point differential” the most important component of what the CIF is looking to improve? Does “point differential” actually equate to better attendance, or is this just an assumption? One might argue that choice of venue or choice of date or “distance lower seed must travel” might correlate a lot more…

2) Does Competitive Equity unfairly impact either boys or girls...or big schools or small schools? The points differential improvement (according to a recent Mercury News article) seems to be much lesser for the boys and is also lesser for higher levels. In some cases it’s just a basket or two difference. Does a basket or two at those levels justify such a massive change to the entire tournament protocol? Maybe a specific tweak to the lower levels or the girls tournament might have improved outcomes for all?

3) Why is “driving revenue” part of the conversation at all? Is the CIF “for-profit” and, if so, why? One might argue that cost-cutting (does the CIF really need 2-3 henchmen at each high school door at each venue? and 2-3 more to make sure no one walks on the floor at halftime?) could achieve the desired result…