ADVERTISEMENT

Monte VIsta goes to St. Mary’s - Stockton

kiddman32

Hall of Famer
Nov 25, 2012
After a massive traffic jam slowed me down bigtime, I arrived with a little over 4 minutes left in the freshmen game.

MV was leading by 5 at the time, but couldn’t hang on…. SMC won it on a 3-pointer with some 16 minutes left. MV’s attempts to tie came up short.

SMC frosh win by 3.

This is my first time in this gym, tho I have seen games online quite a few times.

Terrific little gym, and to my amzement they used the whole scoreboards for the freshmen game, all the basic stats for the players, points and fouls.

Said scoreboards are on the sides rather than the ends, which makes for easy viewing by fans (and bad typists like me).

The gym is probably no bigger than St’ Joe’s crackerbox, but there seems to be a good bit more seating, including a set of bleachers on one end.

Yeah, yeah, I’m a gym geek…. :)

12-4 in the JV game, SMS in front, early in the 2nd quarter.

17-4 now, about 7 minutes left in the half

Looks for a bit like momentum was shifting a little…. was up to 27-4 at one point but looked like MV might make a bit of a run and get within hailing distance by halftime…. but it didn’t turn out that way.

36-10 SMS at the half of the JV game.

SMC starters: #11 Daniela Huerta, #14 Cayden Ward, #20 Dominic Glero, #21 Jake Loebs, #31 Alex Perasso

MV starters: #2 Daniel Cojacaru, #3 Jacob Shehata, #24 Alex Long, #25 Max Nishikawa, #32 Collin Ellis

(That scoreboard is the BOMB!)

Reactions: M.C. fan
Perasso opens the scoring with 2 FT’s, 2-0.

Ward scores for SMS, is fouled…. FT no good. 4-0 SMC.

Shehata with the Eurostep for 2, 4-2 SMC.
SWAT by Long, leads to a score, 4-4.

Up and down hoops here, I can’t keep up already…. 6-all.

10-8 MV now after Travis Viera scores…. now 12-8 after Corbin Knight scores. Time out SMS, 3:05 left in the 1st.

Cayden Ward fouled, FT’s for SMS. Both good, 12-10.