ADVERTISEMENT

St. Joe’s hosts Miramonte

kiddman32

Hall of Famer
Nov 25, 2012
I sit beneath the Jason Kidd banner at St. Joe’s, awaiting the start of the Varsity game... Frosh and JV achieved a split, the Pilots’ frosh winning a close one, and the Mats returning the favor in OT in the JV game.

This is my first time seeing the SJND Pilots in-person this season. Before the season started, I figured were gonna take lots of lumps this season, but so far they appear to be pretty competitive.

The Pilots are 7-5 and the Mats are 8-5, but the Pilots have played a good bit tougher schedule.

Of course, this works as a sneak preview of Miramonte for me, since they are the sworn enemy of my fabulous Campolindo Cougars and play them on Tuesday.

Mira’s leading scorer is a 6’5” big named M Meredith, doing a bit over 16ppg. I have no thrilling, incredibly deep commentary on the pilots :)

The Pilots may be famous for their 2-3 zone, but they’ve started with a man defense... 3-2 Pilots early on.

Right now, the Pilots are just plain getting outhustled... 15-8 Miramonte. Err, 18-8 after a Meredith 3-bomb... 1:14 left in the 1st.

20-12 after one... Only a wild 3-ball at the buzzer by McCullough (he’s a freshman!) keeping the Pilots anywhere close.

Intensity on the Pilots’ end has gone way up and they’re fighting back into it... 22-17 MM. Now if the Pilots could sink any Ft’s...

3-ball at the Buzzer for the Pilots... rattles out. 32-24 Miramonte at the half.

Forget pulling teeth... Scoring points in this one is about as hard as heart/lung surgery. 34-29, MM still in front, 3:18 left 3rd.

Jaylen Thompson has scored 6 in a row for the Pilots... 34-33 MM. 1:11 left 3rd.

MM has the ball, 5 seconds left 3rd, but the Pilots steal the inbounds pass and go all the way for a layup at the buzzer! 35-34 end of 3rd... Pilots in front.

Thmopson with a putback! 37-34. MM coach is steamed.... Just cruisin’ for a T...