ADVERTISEMENT

A Baseball Primer by Jim Pransky

BKWRDKUROUT

Sports Fanatic
Apr 28, 2007
I have been fortunate to have been employed in baseball for the last 29 years. I was a college coach for seven years and the rest of my career has been spent as a professional baseball scout coupled with a little time in player development. Before that quarter of a century plus, I worked as a high school coach and prior to that as a little league coach and an elementary school teacher.
During many of my "off seasons," I've spent time as an indoor instructor, working with kids from 8 to 21 on baseball fundamentals of hitting, pitching, fielding, etc.
It has been through these indoor sessions and interactions with the players and their parents that I have seen and heard this generation's ideas and goals on how to improve their skills and fulfill their aspirations on becoming a collegiate or professional player.
These conversations and experiences have led me to formulate methods of instruction that I feel are beneficial to both the student and their parents. The strength of these methods is not based very much on my time in professional baseball. It has been developed using ALL my years in baseball and my seven years as a classroom teacher.
I've tried to follow many of the same techniques in teaching young baseball players as I used in the classroom many years ago. Like a daily lesson in school, the material presented to twenty students is not going to be received the same way by the entire class. As a teacher, you have to recognize that fact. A format of lecture, demonstration, drills and practical application is not going to be successful with every student. You have to be CREATIVE.
"Much advanced teaching today takes the form of a brief lecture, followed by a period of discussion during which the audience identifies itself with the information, voices its criticisms and discovers the knowledge for itself." (J.A.C. Brown)