ADVERTISEMENT

Poor Sportsmanship

Jan 11, 2016
I had the opportunity to attend the CCS Championship games for the girls and boys last night at Santa Clara University. The night was great for the winners and disappointing for the losers, but one thing stood out to me after the award ceremony in the boys game. As I looked onto the court, I noticed the 2nd place trophy sitting in the middle of the court as the BELLARMINE team walked off. Immediately without thinking I yelled out, "Bellarmine pick up your 2nd place trophy, show sportsmanship." One of the last adults walking out picked up the trophy and walked out. A few minutes later the Bellarmine athletic director found me in the crowd and apologized and stated he didn't know what was going on with that trophy being left in the middle of the court. To say the least, as a coach I was immediately disgusted at the lack of respect for the game that was displayed when a team leaves a trophy on the court after a loss. Should I have minded my own business? Maybe, but I didn't, so whatever...

Last edited:
Reactions: AndThree